
STATE OF MINNESOTA 

IN SUPREME COURT 

C9-8 l-l 206 

Order Amending Minnesota Rules Relating 
to Registration of Attorneys 

WHEREAS, the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board filed a petition on 

January 13, 1984, requesting amendments to Minnesota Rules Relating to Registration of 

Attorneys; 

WHEREAS, the text of the proposed amendments was ordered to be published 

in the Supreme Court edition of Finance and Commerce, the St. Paul Legal Ledger, and 

Bench and Bar; 

WHEREAS, the Minnesota State Bar Association filed a resolution dated July 

13, 1984, on behalf of its membership in support of the proposed amendments; 

WHEREAS, on July 24, 1984, the Supreme Court held a public hearing 

regarding the proposed amendments; 

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court considered such amendments at a meeting on 

July 24, 1984, and has given due consideration to such amendments; 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the attached amendments be adopted, effective 

with attorney registration payments due on and after October 1, 1984. 

Dated: July 25, 1984. 

cmxx OF BY THE COURT: 

AIL2 51984 

WAYNE TSCHUVW’ERLE 
CLERK 
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. RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE 

In order to defray the expenses of examinations and 

investigations for admission to the bar and disciplinary 

proceedings, over and above the amount paid by applicants for 

. such admission, with exceptions hereinafter enumerated, each 

attorney admitted to practice law in this state and those 

members of the judiciary who are required to be admitted to 

practice as a prerequisite to holding office shall hereafter 

annually pay to the clerk of the supreme court a registration 

fee in the sum of Gixty-six Eighty-two +866;80+ ($82.00) 

or in such lesser sum as the Court may annually hereafter 

determine. 

Such fee, or a portion thereof, shall be paid on or 

before the first day of January, April, July, or October of 

each year as requested by the clerk of the supreme court. 

~11 sums so received shall be allocated as follows: 

$7.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners 

$5.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal 

Education 

654788 $70.00 to the Lawyers Professional 

Responsibility Board 

The following attorneys and judges shall pay an annual 

registration fee of Twenty-three Twenty-seven Dollars 

+$23,68+ ($27.00): 

(a) Any attorney or judge whose permanent 

residence is outside the State of Minnesota 

and who does not practice law within this 

state; 

(b) Any attorney who has not been admitted to 

practice for more than three years; 

(c) Any attorney while on duty in the armed forces 
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of the United States; 

The Twenty-three Twenty-seven Dollars f$23:60+ ($27.00) 

so received shall be allocated as follows: 

$7.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners 

$5.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal 

Education 

$$$~88 $15.00 to the Lawyers Professional 

Responsibility Board 

Any attorney who is retired from any gainful employment 

or permanently disabled, and who files annually with the 

clerk of the supreme court an affidavit that he is SO retired 

or disabled and not engaged in the practice of law, shall be 

placed in a fee-exempt category and shall remain in good 

standing. An attorney claiming retired or permanently 

disabled status who subsequently resumes active practice of 

law shall promptly file notice of such change of status with 

the clerk of the supreme court and pay the annual 

registration fee. 

Any judge who is retired from any gainful employment or 

permanently disabled, who no,longer serves on the bench or 

practices law, and who files annually with the clerk of the 

supreme court an affidavit that he is so retired or disabled 

and not engaged in the practice of law, sh.all be placed in a 

fee-exempt category and shall remain in good standing. A 

judge claiming retired or permanently disabled status who 

subsequently resumes service on the bench or the active 

practice of law shall promptly file notice of such chnnye of 

status with the clerk of the supreme court and pay the annual 

registration fee. 


